Syncing Issues.
  • Hi Daniel & Forum,

I have a wordpress blog and have started using Marsedit to draft my posts locally before publishing. I have MarsEdit installed on 3 different machines (my macmini at home, my iMac at work, and on my macbook air). Anyway, I did a site audit the other week with some tools from Raven which identified some broken links on my site. I went and updated all the broken links on my pages (through wordpress rather than Marsedit) and did another audit and everything came out ok (i.e. I had no broken links).

Today I was using MarsEdit to update one of my posts and when I published it and checked online all was good. However, I then noticed all the posts that I had fixed last week had reverted back to an older version and contained the same broken links that I know were fixed. Is it possible that MarsEdit pushed back the older version of the posts to the server?

Im just wondering because Im a newbie to blogging and dont really have an understanding of how the syncing works. I was guessing that when you hit refresh on Marsedit it would automatically know not to update a post on the server if the changes made through the online wordpress backend where more 'current' than the local version of the post/page stored locally on MarsEdit? In other words, MarsEdit would 'pull' from the server if the server version was more current or it would 'push' to the server if the local MarsEdit version was more current.

Anyway, just curious because although it didnt take long to re-update the links Im scared of experiencing much more serious version control issues in the future.

Thanks Daniel. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated and once again apologies if this sounds like nonsense because as I said I am a genuine newbie to blogging.

Cheers.

• Hi - thanks for asking about this. Unfortunately MarsEdit is not as sophisticated as it could be when it comes to handling situations where the app is being used from multiple Macs for the same blog.